Astronomical Society of the Republic of China 2012 Scientific Assembly (ASROC2012)

National Taitung University (Taitung Campus), Taitung May 25 - 27, 2012

The 2012 Scientific Assembly of the Astronomical Society of the Republic of China (ASROC2012) will be held at National Taitung University on May 25 - 27, 2012. This is the annual event for all astronomers and astrophysicists in Taiwan to demonstrate their most recent discoveries and observations, to report their latest research results and to exchange ideas, also to organize cooperation when desirable. Oral presentations and conference posters in all areas of astronomy and astrophysics are solicited. ASROC2012 is an excellent venue, too, for students, in particular graduate students, to present their research finding or progress from their thesis studies.

The meeting will include plenary talks, scientific and educational sessions, poster presentation, a business meeting, and an outreach program. The plenary talks feature (1) **Dr. Michael Mumma**, Director, Goddard Center for Astrobiology, NASA Astrobiology Institute on *Comet Taxonomy and Astrobiology* (tentative) and (2) **Dr. Jesús Galindo Trejo**, Senior Research Fellow, Institute of Aesthetic Research, National Autonomous University of Mexico on *Mayan Astronomy and 2012 Doomsday – the Prophecy of Maya* (tentative).

ASROC2012 website will be ready by mid-February, and on-line registration will be also available. Participants of the scientific assembly should submit their abstracts and register on-line. A registration fee of NT\$500 should be paid on site. In addition, contributions in the ASROC meeting, including oral talks and poster presentations will be published in the Journal of Taipei Astronomical Museum. Details about the page limits and format of the papers will be described in the second circular and the website of the Astronomical Society.

The Astronomical Society cordially invites you to participate in this annual event with all the many interesting and exciting activities. For more details and updated information, please visit the ASROC website at http://www.asroc.org.tw/.

Program Committee

Kuan, Yi-Jehng (NTNU; Co-Chair) Chang, Hsiang-Kuang (NTHU) Hwang, Chorng-Yuan (NCU) Chin, Yi-Nan (TKU) Chang, Kuei-Lan (TAM) Hsu, Rue-Ron (NCKU; Co-Chair) Wang, Shiang-Yu (ASIAA) Wu, Jiun-Huei Proty (NTU)

Local Organizing Committee

Liu, Sheng-Yuan (ASIAA; Co-Chair) Yang, I-Ching (NTTU; Co-Chair) Tseng, Yao-Huan (ASIAA; Co-Chair) Liu, Pei-Ju (NTNU)

^{*} ASROC2012 is sponsored in part by the National Science Council.