Astronomical Society of the Republic of China 2012 Scientific Assembly (ASROC2012)

National Taitung University (Taitung Campus), Taitung May 25 - 27, 2012

3rd Circular

The Astronomical Society of the Republic of China cordially welcomes you to participate in the 2012 Scientific Assembly (ASROC2012) to be held at National Taitung University on May 25-27 (Fri-Sun), 2012. This is the annual event for all astronomers and astrophysicists in Taiwan to present their most recent exciting discoveries, to report their latest research results, and to exchange ideas as well as to organize collaborations.

In this year's 3-day meeting, there will be the general assembly meeting, two plenary talks, scientific and educational oral sessions, as well as poster presentations. The plenary talks feature Dr. Michael Mumma, Director of the Goddard Center for Astrobiology at NASA Astrobiology Institute, on "Messengers from the Early Solar System - The Similarity & Diversity of Comets", and Dr. Jesus Galindo Trejo, a senior research fellow at the Institute of Aesthetic Research at National Autonomous University of Mexico, on "Mayan Apocalypse in 2012? A Critical View from the Mesoamerican Astronomy and Culture". The scientific program, including oral talks and poster presentations, is now available at the meeting website. All contributions in the meeting will be published in the Journal of Taipei Astronomical Museum.

In addition to the scientific program, the general assembly will be held in the morning of May 27 (Sun), with a lottery drawing for the attendants of the assembly. Group tours are scheduled in the afternoon of May 26 (Sat), followed by the conference banquet and the sky-gazing event in the same evening. During the meeting, voting for the best ASROC logo design will be conducted; book and instrumentation exhibition are also scheduled.

The online registration of ASROC2012 has been closed on March 4, 2012; those who missed the online registration can still register on-site. A registration fee of 500 NTD should be paid on site (Registration fee will be waived for ASROC members with 2012 annual membership fee paid).

The Local Organizing Committee would like to remind all participants of the following items -

Meeting Venue and Transportation:

The ASROC meeting will be held at the International Conference Hall in the General Classroom Building of National Taitung University. The registration desk/area is located in front of the conference hall.

For those who have made reservations of group train tickets to Taitung through the LOC, the tickets will be delivered before 05/24 to major institutes and organizations (e.g. ASIAA, NTU, NTNU, NCU, NTHU, TAM, TFGS, and Taipei Familystar Club). Further notice will be sent to those who are not affiliated with the above organizations regarding the meeting time and location for boarding the train #208 in the morning of May 25 (Fri). Meeting registration will be conducted onboard the train ride to Taitung, and group bus transportation from the Taitung Train Station to the NTTU campus will be provided immediately after the arrival.

More information about access to the National Taitung University can be found at the meeting webpage. On-campus parking is available with free-of-charge.

Oral Presentations:

Oral contributions are scheduled for 10 minutes in length (including 2 minutes Q&A) or 15 minutes in length (including 3 minutes Q&A). All speakers are strongly recommended to load their presentation file(s) onto the on-site computer during the coffee break before the presentation. The meeting will offer Microsoft and Mac platforms with standard presentation software in the on-site computers. Please test your presentation in advance.

O Poster Presentations:

The physical size of the poster board is about 100 cm wide and 100 cm high, and the recommended display area is no more than W90cm by H90 cm, with standard A1 size (W84.1cm by H59.4cm) being the optimum. Posters should be set up before 4:30PM May 25. Poster authors can identify their poster boards by the tagged ID number on top of each board; they are also responsible for removing their presentations before 11:30AM May 27.

A competition for the Best Poster Award will be held during the meeting. Poster authors are recommended to attend their posters during the coffee breaks. The three awardees will have the opportunity to present a 3-minute oral report over the exciting results from their award-winning posters at the time of the General Assembly session from 10:00-10:45AM on May 27 (Sun).

O Tours:

For those who signed up the group tour on 05/26 (Sat), there are two tour options (http://www.asroc.org.tw/asroc2012/en/tourbanquet.php). Tour A (capacity: 80 people) includes stops at the Peinan Culture Park, the Xiaoyeliu Natural Stone Sculptural Park, and the Jialulan Recreation Area. Tour B (capacity: 40 people) will visit the Fushan No-Fishing Zone and the Peinan Culture Park. Your choice of tour will be made on the first-come, first-choice bases. Please inform the LOC your preference of the tour at your earliest convenience.

O Stargazing:

To promote astronomy education to the Taitung local community, a sky-gazing event will held jointly with the Taipei "Familystar Club" in the evening of 05/26 (Sat) from

8PM to 10PM near the East Cost Patrol station by seashore (No. 191, Nanhai Rd., Taitung). Activities include an introduction of the spring night sky and star-gazing (or educational games if it rains). You are mostly welcome to join the event and enjoy the night sky, the ocean breeze, and the waves of the Pacific!

O Payment:

Payment includes the registration fee (NTD 500 per person), train ticket (NTD 785 one-way per person), tour (about NTD 300 per person for Tour A, NTD 550 per person for Tour B), and banquet (NTD 50 per person). Please prepare exact changes for your applicable payment at the time of registration.

Again, the ASROC sincerely welcome you to joining the 2012 Annual Meeting. For more information, please visit the ASROC2012 website at http://www.asroc.org.tw/asroc2012/en/index.php

For Email Contact: <u>loc@sgrb2.geos.ntnu.edu.tw</u>

Program Committee

Kuan, Yi-Jehng (NTNU; Co-Chair) Chang, Hsiang-Kuang (NTHU) Hwang, Chorng-Yuan (NCU) Chin, Yi-Nan (TKU) Chang, Kuei-Lan (TAM) Hsu, Rue-Ron (NCKU; Co-Chair) Wang, Shiang-Yu (ASIAA) Wu, Jiun-Huei Proty (NTU)

Local Organizing Committee

Liu, Sheng-Yuan (ASIAA; Co-Chair) Yang, I-Ching (NTTU; Co-Chair) Tseng, Yao-Huan (ASIAA; Co-Chair) Lin, Tzu-Fen. (NTTU) Liu, Pei-Ju (NTNU) Hsu, Yu-Sen (NTNU) Chuang, Yo-Ling (NTNU)

^{*} ASROC2012 is sponsored in part by the National Science Council.