## Astronomical Society of the Republic of China 2014 Scientific Assembly (ASROC2014)

## National Taiwan University Experimental Forest, NanTou May 23 – 25, 2014

The 2014 Scientific Assembly of the Astronomical Society of the Republic of China (ASROC2014) will be held at National Taiwan University Experimental Forest (NTUEF) on 2014 May 23 (Fri) – 25 (Sun). This is the annual event for all astronomers and astrophysicists in Taiwan to report their latest research results and to exchange new ideas. ASROC2014 is also an excellent venue for graduate students to present their research findings or progress from thesis studies.

The meeting will include plenary talks, scientific and educational sessions, poster presentation, and a business meeting. The featured plenary speakers are 1) **Prof. Debra Fischer** of Yale University, Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Science. 2) **Prof. Neal Evans**, the Edward Randall, Jr. Centennial Professor in Astronomy of University of Texas at Austin. Prof. Fisher, a well-known astronomer and one of the pioneers in extrasolar planet search, will give a plenary talk on "*How will we find another Earth?*." Prof. Evans, a world leading expert in low-mass star formation, will talk about "*Progress in understanding the formation of low mass stars*."

In the Assembly, the Society will also present the 1<sup>st</sup> *Heaven Quest Award* to Director Paul T.P. Ho of ASIAA for his distinguished contribution to astronomical research, and the 1<sup>st</sup> *Heaven Talk Award* to Taipei Astronomical Museum for its outstanding contribution to astronomy education and popularization of astronomy. In addition to the scientific agenda, the afternoon of May 24 (Sat) is reserved for group discussions or group excursions at choice; a conference banquet will be held later in the evening and all meeting participants are welcome to attend. Exhibitions of astronomical books and instruments are also planned during the meeting.

ASROC2014 website is now open for registration and abstract submission. The deadline for online registration is April 15 and for abstract submission, March 31. Participants of the scientific assembly should submit their abstracts and register on-line. A registration fee of NT\$1,000 (NT\$800 for students) should be paid on site. The LOC will help to reserve 4-person suite in the student dormitory; participants who would like to use this service should inform the LOC (service@www.asroc.org.tw) before April 15; discount rate is offered for all rooms in the Education Center. For more detailed information and update, please visit the ASROC2014 website at http://www.asroc.org.tw/asroc2014/en/.

## Program Committee

| Chang, Hsiang-Kuang | (NTHU)            |
|---------------------|-------------------|
| Chang, Kuei-Lan     | (TAM)             |
| Chin, Yi-Nan        | (TKU)             |
| Chiueh, Tzihong     | (NTU)             |
| Chou, Yi            | (NCU)             |
| Hsu, Rue-Ron        | (NCKU)            |
| Kuan, Yi-Jehng      | (NTNU; Co-Chair)  |
| Wang, Shiang-Yu     | (ASIAA; Co-Chair) |

## Local Organizing Committee

| Chuang, Yo-Ling     | (NTNU)            |
|---------------------|-------------------|
| Hung, Chih-Yuan     | (NTU)             |
| Hsu, Yusen          | (NTNU)            |
| Liu, Pei-Ju         | (NTNU)            |
| Liu, Sheng-Yuan     | (ASIAA; Co-Chair) |
| Wang, Ya-Nan        | (NTU)             |
| Wu, Jiun-Huei Proty | (NTU; Co-Chair)   |

