Astronomical Society of the Republic of China 2015 Scientific Assembly (ASROC2015)

National Ilan University, I-Lan May 22 – 24, 2015

The 2015 Scientific Assembly of the Astronomical Society of the Republic of China (ASROC2015) will be held at National Ilan University on May 22 (Friday) – 24 (Sunday), 2015. This is the annual event for all astronomers and astrophysicists in Taiwan to present their most recent discoveries and observations, to report their latest research results and to exchange ideas, also to organize collaborations when desirable. ASROC2015 is also an excellent venue for students, in particular graduate students, to present their research findings or progress from their thesis studies.

The meeting will include plenary talks, scientific and educational sessions, poster presentations, and a business meeting. The featured plenary speakers are **1**) **Dr. Timo Prusti** from European Space Agency. **2**) **Dr. Joel Parker** of Southwest Research Institute. Dr. Prusti is the project scientist of the GAIA mission and also the chair of the GAIA Science Team. He will give a plenary talk on "Gaia Mission and Status". Dr. Parker is the director of the Planetary Science Directorate of Southwest Research Institute, and he will talk about "The Rosetta Mission - Past, Present, and Future". The scientific program, including oral talks and poster presentations, is now available at the meeting website:

http://www.asroc.org.tw/asroc2015/en/program.php

In the Assembly, the Society will also present the 2nd Heaven Quest Award to Academician Dr. Typhoon Lee for his distinguished contribution to astronomical research, and the 2nd Heaven Talk Award to Director Wei-Hsin Sun of National Museum of Natural Science for his outstanding contribution to astronomy education and popularization of astronomy on May 24 (Sun). In addition to the scientific agenda, the afternoon of May 23 (Sat) is reserved for group discussions or group excursions at choice; a conference banquet will be held later in the evening and all meeting participants are welcome to attend.

The online registration of ASROC2015 is now closed; those who missed the online registration can still register on-site. A registration fee of NT\$1000 (NT\$800 for students) should be paid on site. Registration fee will be waived for ASROC members with 2015 annual membership fee paid.

The Local Organizing Committee would like to remind all participants of the following items:

Oral Presentations:

Oral contributions are scheduled for 15 minutes, <u>including 3 minutes Q&A</u>. All speakers are strongly recommended to load your presentation files onto the on-site computer before your session. The meeting will provide computers equipped with Microsoft and Mac platforms and standard presentation software. Please test your presentations in advance.

O Poster Presentations:

The usable size of the poster board is about 80 cm wide and 150 cm high. Posters should be

set up before 5:00 pm on May 22. Authors can identify their poster boards by the tagged ID number on top of each board. All posters should be removed by their authors before noon on May 24.

A competition for the Best Poster Award among student presentations will be held during the meeting. Poster authors are recommended to attend their posters during coffee breaks. The three awardees will be given the opportunity to present a 3-minute oral report each on their award-winning research work in the General Assembly to be held at 10:05 - 10:45 am on May 24 (Sun).

O Tours:

For the excursions on May 23 (Saturday), advanced application is required to get to the turtle island. No more requests will be accepted.

O Payment:

Payment includes the registration fee (NT\$ 1000/person, 800 for students), tour (NT\$900/person), and banquet (NT\$50/person). Please prepare exact changes for your applicable payment at the time of registration.

Again, the ASROC sincerely welcomes you to joining the 2015 Annual Meeting. For more information, please visit the ASROC2015 website at:

http://www.asroc.org.tw/asroc2015/en/index.php

For e-mail contact: service@www.asroc.org.tw

Program Committee

Chang, Kuei-Lan
Chao, Han-Chieh
Chin, Yi-Nan
Chu, You-Hua
Hsu, Rue-Ron
Kinoshita, Daisuke
Kuan, Yi-Jehng
Lai, Shih-Ping
Wu, Jiun Huei

(TAM) (NIU; Co-Chair) (TKU) (ASIAA; Co-Chair) (NCKU) (NCU) (NCU) (NTNU) (NTHU) (NTU)

Local Organizing Committee

Chen, Wei-Ming	(NIU: Co-Chair)
Chu, Dai-Yung	(NIU)
Huang, Chao-Hsi	(NIU)
Huang, Gie-Wu	(NIU)
Gu, Tien-Hsin	(NIU)
Gu, Tien-Hsin	(NIU)
Wang, Shiang-Yu	(ASIAA; Co-Chair)
Wei, Emily	(ASIAA)

