Home | 2016 ASROC Annual Meeting
2016 ASROC Annual Meeting
National Cheng Kung University, Tainan

Welcome to ASROC 2016 Annual Meeting

The 2016 Scientific Assembly of the Astronomical Society of the Republic of China (ASROC2016) will be held at National Cheng Kung University on May 13 (Friday) – 15 (Sunday), 2016. This is an annual event for all astronomers and astrophysicists in Taiwan to present their most recent discoveries and observations, to report their latest research results and to exchange ideas, also to organize collaborations when desirable. Oral presentations and conference posters in all areas of astronomy and astrophysics are solicited. ASROC2016 is also an excellent venue for students, in particular graduate students, to present their research findings or progress from their thesis studies.

The meeting will include plenary talks, scientific and educational sessions, poster presentation, and a business meeting. The featured plenary speakers are 1) Prof. Harold A. Weaver, Jr. of Johns Hopkins University. 2) Mr. Zoltan G. Levay of Space Telescope Science Institute (STScI). Prof. Weaver, the New Horizons project scientist, will give a plenary talk on "The Exploration of Pluto and the Kuiper Belt by New Horizons." Mr. Levay, the Imaging Group Lead of the Office of Public Outreach and PI of the Hubble Heritage Project at STScI, will talk about " Visualizing Hubble's Colorful Universe. "

In the Assembly, the Society will also present the 3rd Heaven Quest Award to Academician Frank Shu for his distinguished contributions to astronomical research, and the 3rd Heaven Talk Award to Prof. Han-Tzong Su and the APOD Chinese translation team in National Cheng Kung University for their outstanding contributions to astronomy education and popularization of astronomy. In addition to the scientific agenda, a conference banquet will be held at noon on May 14 (Sat) and all meeting participants are welcome to attend; the afternoon is reserved for group discussions or group excursions of choice. Exhibitions of astronomical books and instruments are also planned during the meeting.

ASROC2016 website is now open for registration and abstract submission. The deadline for online registration is April 15 and for abstract submission, March 31. Participants of the Scientific Assembly should submit their abstracts and register on-line. A registration fee of NT$1,000 (NT$800 for students) should be paid on site. The LOC has secured 45 rooms at Zenda Suite; participants who would like to stay there should fax or email the reservation form to Zenda Suite before these rooms are released on April 13. For more detailed information and update, please visit the ASROC2016 website at http://www.asroc.org.tw/asroc2016/en/.

For e-mail contact: service@asroc.org.tw.


  • 2016/03/09 2nd circular announcement. Download [pdf file]
  • 2016/01/19 1st circular announcement. Download [pdf file]

Program Committee

  • Chang, Hsiang-Kuang (NTHU)
  • Chang, Mi Ti (TSEM)
  • Chen, Huei-Ru (NTHU)
  • Chen, Lin-wen (NTNU)
  • Chin, Yi-Nan (TKU)
  • Chu, You-Hua (ASIAA; Co-Chair)
  • Hsu, Rue-Ron (NCKU; Co-Chair)
  • Hwang, Chorng-Yuan (NCU)
  • Kinoshita, Daisuke (NCU)
  • Kong, Albert (NTHU)
  • Kuan, Yi-Jehng (NTNU)
  • Lai, Shih-Ping (NTHU)
  • Lin, Li-Hwai (ASIAA)
  • Liu, Sheng-Yuan (ASIAA)


  • Chen, Alfred B. (NCKU: Co-Chair)
  • Chen, Chao-Mim (NCKU)
  • Tam, Sunny Wing-Yee (NCKU)
  • Tsai, Chin-Chun (NCKU)
  • Yo, Hwei-Jang (NCKU)
  • Wang, Shiang-Yu (ASIAA; Co-Chair)
  • Wei, Emily (ASIAA)