Astronomical Society of the Republic of China 2019 Scientific Assembly (ASROC2019) National Museum of Nature Science, Taichung May 17 – 19, 2019

The 2019 Scientific Assembly of the Astronomical Society of the Republic of China (ASROC2019) will be held at National Museum of Nature Science on May 17 (Friday) – 19 (Sunday), 2019. This is an annual event for all astronomers and astrophysicists in Taiwan to present their most recent discoveries and observations, to report their latest research results, to exchange ideas, and to organize collaborations. Oral presentations and conference posters in all areas of astronomy and astrophysics are solicited. ASROC2019 is also an excellent venue for students, in particular graduate students, to present their research findings or progress from their thesis studies.

The meeting will include plenary talks, scientific and educational sessions, poster presentation, and a business meeting. The featured plenary speakers are Dr. Di Li and Prof. Masaki Fujimoto. Dr. Di Li, an NAOC FAST project scientist, will give a plenary talk on "FAST, Five-hundred-meter Aperture Spherical radio Telescope", and Prof. Masaki Fujimoto, the deputy director general of ISAS, JAXA, will talk about "Hayabusa2 mission"

In the Assembly, the Society will also present the 6th Heaven Talk Award to National Museum of Nature Science for its outstanding contributions to astronomy education and popularization of astronomy. In addition to the scientific agenda, a conference banquet will be held at the noon of May 18 (Sat) and all meeting participants are welcome to attend; the afternoon is reserved for group discussions or group excursions of choice. Exhibitions of astronomical books and instruments are also planned during the meeting.

Also, three best student posters will be awarded with NTD5,000 prize and single best oral presentation will be awarded with NTD10,000 prize to the winners.

ASROC2019 website is now open for registration and abstract submission. The deadline for online registration is April 28 and for abstract submission, March 31. Participants of the Scientific Assembly should submit their abstracts and register on-line. A registration fee of NT\$1,000 (NT\$800 for students) should be paid on site.

<u>Program Committee</u> Chu, You-Hua (ASIAA; Chair) Woo, Tak-Pong (NTU) Chin, Yi-Nan (TKU) Tseng, Wei-Ling(NTNU) Ngeow, Chow-Choong (NCU) Lai, Shih-Ping (NTHU) Chen, Bing-Chih (NCKU) Kuo, Cheng-Yu (NSYU) Local Organizing Committee Wang, Pin-Wei (NMNS; Co-Chair) Wang, Andrew (ASIAA; Co-Chair) King, Sun-Kun (ASIAA) Chou, Mei-Yin (ASIAA) Chiu, Cindy (ASIAA) Lin, Suh-Lian (ASIAA)

