2018 ASROC Annual Meeting
National Quemoy University
May 18~20
2nd circular announcement
Abstract submission deadline
Program available online
Online registraion deadline
Pre-meeting announcement
Meeting dates

Welcome to ASROC 2018 Annual Meeting

The 2018 Scientific Assembly of the Astronomical Society of the Republic of China (ASROC2018) will be held at National Quemoy University on May 18 (Friday) – 20 (Sunday), 2018. This is an annual event for all astronomers and astrophysicists in Taiwan to present their most recent discoveries and observations, to report their latest research results, to exchange ideas, and to organize collaborations. Oral presentations and conference posters in all areas of astronomy and astrophysics are solicited. This meeting is also an excellent venue for students, in particular graduate students, to present their research findings or progress from their thesis studies.

The meeting will include plenary talks, scientific and educational sessions, poster presentation, and a business meeting. The featured plenary speakers are 1) Prof. Roger Chevalier of University of Virginia. 2) Prof. Lynn Cominsky of Sonoma State University.

  1. Prof. Chevalier will give a plenary talk on “Superluminous Supernovae”.
  2. Prof. Cominsky will talk about “Astrophysics Education and Public Outreach”.

In the Assembly, the Society will also present the 5th Heaven Quest Award to Dr. Ronald Taam for his distinguished contributions to astronomical research, and the 5th Heaven Talk Award to Taichung Amateur Astronomers Association for their outstanding contributions to astronomy education and popularization of astronomy. In addition to the scientific agenda, a conference banquet will be held at noon on May 19 (Sat) and all meeting participants are welcome to attend; the afternoon is reserved for group discussions or group excursions for choice.

ASROC2018 website is now open for registration. Participants of the scientific assembly should submit their abstracts and register on-line. A registration fee of NT$1000 (NT$800 for students) should be paid on site. Registration fee will be waived for ASROC members with 2018 annual membership fee paid.

Registration Fee

  • General Registration: NT$1000
  • Student Registration: NT$800
  • Please pay on site


Due to the peak toursim season, please book your tour package as soon as possible. Details


Program Committee

  • Chu, You-Hua (ASIAA; Chair)
  • Woo, Tak-Pong (NTU)
  • Chin, Yi-Nan (TKU)
  • Tseng, Wei-Ling (NTNU)
  • Ngeow, Chow-Choong (NCU)
  • Lai, Shih-Ping (NTHU)
  • Chen, Bing-Chih (NCKU)
  • Kuo, Cheng-Yu (NSYU)


  • Lu, Li-Shin (National Quemoy University; Co-Chair)
  • Yang, Steven (Kinmen County Education Bureau)
  • Tsai, Sung-Hui (Jincheng Junior High School)
  • Wang, Andrew (ASIAA; Co-Chair)
  • King, Sun-Kun (ASIAA)
  • Chou, Mei-Yin (ASIAA)
  • Chiu, Cindy (ASIAA)
  • Lin, Suh-Lian (ASIAA)