2020 ASROC Annual Meeting
ASIAA Auditorium
Online registration available
8/10 extended to 8/12
Abstract submission deadline
Online registration deadline
Program available online
Meeting dates

Welcome to ASROC 2020 Annual Meeting

The 2020 Scientific Assembly of the Astronomical Society of the Republic of China (ASROC2020) will be held at Institute of Astronomy and Astrophysics, Academia Sinica on September 3 (Thursday) – 4 (Friday), 2020. This is an annual event for all astronomers and astrophysicists in Taiwan to present their most recent discoveries and observations, to report their latest research results, to exchange ideas, and to organize collaborations. Oral presentations and conference posters in all areas of astronomy and astrophysics are solicited. ASROC2020 is also an excellent venue for students, in particular graduate students, to present their research findings or progress from their thesis studies.

The meeting will include plenary talks, scientific poster presentation, and educational sessions. The featured plenary speakers are Prof. Albert Kong (winner of MoST 2015 Outstanding Research Award) from NTHU, Prof. Wen-Ping Chen (winner of MoST 2016 Outstanding Research Award) from NCU and Prof. Shih-Ping Lai (winner of CTCI Outstanding Physics Research Award) from NTHU.

In addition to the scientific agenda, we will have a conference dinner in the evening of September 3 and all meeting participants are welcome to attend. No group excursion is planned this year.

In the general assembly meeting on September 4, the Society will present the 7th Heaven Talk Award to the late Prof. Hsieh-Hai Fu for his outstanding contributions to astronomy education and popularization of astronomy. Also, new council members will be elected in the meeting.

ASROC has a regular competition for the best oral and poster award for students. The best student oral presentation will be awarded with NT$10,000 prize and NT$5,000 prize for three best student posters. The three best poster winners need to give a 3-minute oral presentation in the general assembly meeting. In the meantime, we will have a special annular solar eclipse photo contest this year. The judges are Profs. Albert Kong, Yi-Nan Chin and Dr. Wei-Hao Wang. The First, Second and Third Prize winners will be awarded with NT$10,000, 5,000, and 3,000 prizes respectively.
Rules for the ASROC Annular Solar Eclipse Photo Contest of 2020
Photo Contest Winners

ASROC2020 website is now open for registration and abstract submission. The deadline for online registration is August 17 and for abstract submission, August 10 (extended to Auguest 12). Participants of the scientific assembly should submit their abstracts and register on-line. A registration fee of NT$1,000 (NT$800 for students) should be paid on site. Please prepare cash in exact amount if possible. We do not take triple stimulus vouchers.

Program Book (PDF)


Registration Fee

  • General Registration: NT$1000
  • Student Registration: NT$800
  • Please pay on site

Program Committee

  • Chu, You-Hua (ASIAA; Chair)
  • Woo, Tak-Pong (NTU)
  • Chin, Yi-Nan (TKU)
  • Tseng, Wei-Ling (NTNU)
  • Ngeow, Chow-Choong (NCU)
  • Lai, Shih-Ping (NTHU)
  • Chen, Bing-Chih (NCKU)
  • Kuo, Cheng-Yu (NSYSU)


  • Wang, Andrew (ASIAA)
  • King, Sun-Kun (ASIAA)
  • Chou, Mei-Yin (ASIAA)
  • Chiu, Cindy (ASIAA)
  • Lin, Suh-Lian (ASIAA)